Finding focus

Sometimes life has a way of stepping in and keeping you from your goals. The car breaks down, the pipes freeze over and it seems like everything is totally out of your control.

You’ve got two options.

Curl back up under your covers and reacquaint yourself with tumblr or Netflix, or….

Take back control.

Shit happens. Not everything is going to go to plan all the time. Hell, half of the things I plan to do never see the light of day because so much goes on in my life. But isn’t doing half of what you hoped to better than not doing anything at all?!

If you’re anything like me, then one thing gone wrong can ruin your day. Far to often I let that angry conversation, stubbed toe, or pile of dishes ruin my mood and spoil productivity for the rest of my evening

Certainly it’s easier to catch up on old star trek episodes than to tackle that troublesome scene that seems to be just one more problem on the heap of problems in my day.

But it really doesn’t have to be.

Everyone’s a little different when it comes to finding the peace and the mindset to make real headway on a project. So here’s a list of some of the things which help me find focus during hectic or otherwise miserable days.

Journaling
Hot Tea
Chocolate
Reading a few chapters of a favorite book
Warm bath
Running
Yoga
Sketching my scenes and it’s problems
Creating lists of what I have to be happy about in my life
Listening to my favorite playlist/soundtrack
Hugging my pets
Hugging significant others

I’m sure some of these might be helpful and others won’t be, but just remember that if you want something to happen, you’ve got to put the effort in.

It’s easy to work on the good days, but working on the bad ones is more meaningful in the long run.

Besides if you can finding happiness without the stars and planets aligning to give you a perfect day, then you’ll have a lot more good ones than bad.

Leave a Reply

