Nanowrimo losses and plans for 2014

Well, for the first time I’ve lost Nanowrimo…

Not so long ago, I would have counted that as a huge failure, but right now I’m feeling rather content. This November birthed a fantastic new novel idea, some fantastic characters and a spectacular setting that I’ve fallen in love with. What I did write, about 28 thousand, is well written and concise.

One of the many “tips” that inevitably rears it’s ugly head for Nanowrimo is to write as much as possible whether that means using prompts that serve no plot purpose, or create extravagant 4+ part names, or simply to explore every tangent. While Nanowrimo is about writing a lot in a short period of time, I do not believe that quality/content should be blatantly ignored in favor of more words. If your story is about aliens in outer space, then using a prompt which requires your characters to go to the store to buy milk and run into antagonists makes no fucking sense. Yet every year, people suggest equally ridiculous things in order to up word counts.

If you are writing just for the sake of writing something novel length, then more power to you. But I write with the goal of telling a moving story, full of characters you feel for, and content that makes you rethink your preset notions. Someday soon, I hope to be published. And not just once, but many times over. I plan to make a career out of writing so rambling for 50k is a somewhat pointless exercise for me.

To each their own of course, but I sincerely hope that those of you who participated in Nanowrimo feel accomplished, whatever your word count, and that you managed to polish some beautiful ideas over the course of the month.

 

So now that November is over, it’s time to get back into normal life mode. If you’re anything like me, January/the new year seems to be when I try out all new methods of being super productive/netflix addictions. Last year I tried milwordy from February-April, and subsequently spent the next several months recovering. I’m not entirely sure what my plans will be for this coming year, but I’ve got some ideas. Primarily I’m going to be reviewing what I read both here and on my new youtube channel, so stay tuned for links and lots of angsty YA reviews. And of course, I’ll be writing. If anyone has any suggestions for productivity or monthly/yearly challenges like wriye etc. feel free to leave them in the comments below.

Happy Scribbling.

Leave a Reply

