Awesome books and a multitude of head trauma

I’ve had seven concussions in my life.

Seven.

As you can imagine that’s an impressive number for anyone at any age. I’m twenty three, so it’s safe to say I’ll probably have a few more concussions before my life is done. (Though hopefully I won’t die of all this head trauma :D) Still, it’s also safe to say that my brain isn’t always at the top of it’s game.

Mostly this is a pain in the ass. My short term memory is shit, I stutter when I’m tired, and sometimes I can open the refrigerator door ten times before I remember what I’m looking for and the name of the big fucking cold box I’m opening and closing.

But today I’m here to share the one pleasant upside to multiple dead spots on one’s brain.

Every time I reread my old stories they’re brand spanking new! Which is really useful. When I put down a manuscript for a few months, all the information drops out of my head aside from the basics.  Usually I stop working on a book when the material is so dead to me that I would rather burn all my notebooks than try and fix the problems with my characters or plot. Sometimes I really do rage quit my projects and obliterate them. But mostly I set them aside until I have completely forgotten everything about them but their existence.

Like the project I’m reviewing today.  I went back to the document looking for one key description of a character who is featured in a separate story. Instead of taking the five minutes I should have needed to look this up and be done, I’ve spent about an hour rereading sections of my story with awe. Not only because it’s not entirely a steaming pile of 1st draft crap, but also because there are some really intense moments in this book. And I have no fucking clue what happens next. Literally. No clue. If not for the general back story and the names of the characters, which I generally remember, I could have been handed this book and never known I wrote it.

It’s like a magic trick. My brain is a light switch. Two positions, work mode and oblivious. Of course now that I’m looking at the draft I’m itching to work on it and get back to these people who are slowly  becoming real to me again. But still, this is pretty cool.

So what’s the moral here? Well, I’m not saying that head wounds will help you be a better writer. But….

No really. Protect your squishy brain. That being said, maybe we should all make a little more juice with those sour yellow oranges life tends to throw at us. Seriously though, what the hell are those called?!

Leave a Reply

